About the Author

Now graduated from her role as a homeschooling mom of 8, Dawn Camp devotes her time and love of stories to writing her first novel. She enjoys movie nights, cups of Earl Grey, and cheering on the Braves. She and her husband navigate an ever-emptying nest in the Atlanta suburbs.

(in)side DaySpring: things we love
& you will too!
Find more at DaySpring.com
(in)side DaySpring:
things we love
& you will too!
Find more at
Recent Posts

Reader Interactions


  1. I am a more mature newlywed. We were married a little over 2 years ago, (both of our former spouses have passed away) , and we are still learing about each other.

  2. Dawn, your photos are always exquisite, I so enjoy them! Blessings, Joanne

  3. Dawn, such a great post. When hubby and I moved from Alabama to Colorado early in our marriage adventure, we read through Gary Chapman’s book. We discovered that I am a strong words of affirmation girl, and he’s primarily an acts of service guy. We’ve both had to learn how to love each other in each other’s “language.” We’ve been able to communicate what does (and doesn’t) work for speaking love to each other.

    As God’s added to our family, I’m learning my sons’ primary love language is physical touch. Though 11 and 13, they both still love to cuddle up close to me, back scratches, and being near my husband or/and me.

    • Jeanne, it helps so much to understand them, right? My quality time son wants to run errands with me even if he knows we won’t even get out of the car. Understanding his love language helps me understand him!

  4. Dawn,

    It is very important to understand your partner and their love language. I enjoy being with and holding hands or hugging my hubby. Words of affirmation go a long way also.

  5. Dawn,
    As Father’s Day approaches, I think about my dad who passed away 5 years ago. I am a gal whose love language is Words of Affirmation. My dad was a man of few words so when he didn’t speak to me in MY love language, I often wondered if he truly loved me?? What I’ve come to realize, more and more, that though my heart craved to hear “Words of Affirmation”, my dad spoke to me in a different, yet beautiful language of “Acts of Service”. If I needed picked up after a late night activity – her was there. If something of mine needed fixing – he was the man. If I needed funds for college – he looked out for me. No, he wasn’t a warm and fuzzy words kind of guy, but the language he spoke to me was equally as beautiful. I wish I had realized this and appreciated it more while he was still living…learning to hear love in many languages…
    Blessings and thanks for a great post,

  6. My love language is quality time. I used to rank gifts pretty low on my list, but now I would probably put it as number two on my list. As my health has declined, it has become more difficult for me to physically be able to have quality time with a friend. So gifts have become much more important to me because they are tangible reminders that a friend cares. It is something I can see/use/receive even when I may not be able to have a friend over for a visit. It has been interesting to see how my love languages have changed as my health and circumstances have changed. It has also been interesting to see my children’s love languages change and develop as they grow. Things that were very important to them as toddlers maybe aren’t as important now. Thanks for the reminder today to look for ways to love our spouses and children in ways that they appreciate most.

  7. I love the 5 Love Languages and agree that it’s definitely a good component of marriage preparation to figure out how you and your future spouse compare and contrast! My fiance and I also rank high for quality time and for physical touch. When we did a spiritual gifts inventory, we also both ranked high on faith and administration. I am hopeful that being in tune with him on these things will make for a smooth marriage – I’ll let you know in 20 years! 😉

  8. Dawn, I am so grateful to the Lord for for this thought-provoking posting. As I reflect on my love language and that of others in my life, I can see how we are all so beautifully the same and different. I realized that while I have an active love language, I also have a receiving one. How good the Lord is in knowing how we each speak, in our souls and in different phases of life (wink, Rachel-thank you for helping me to think about that), and how He meets those needs in love. May we each reach out to others in love today 🙂

  9. Fun coincidence, but I’m just finishing up a new book that “translates” the concept of the five love languages for teen readers. It’s excellent, and the sooner we learn our own love language and grasp the importance of speaking love in the way that best “fills the love tank” of our family and friends — the better!
    Blessings, Dawn!

  10. Adding to Bev’s thought. ^^^
    I think it’s so important to note that people tend to communicate to others in their own primary love language. (An acts of service person will show love by doing things to serve others, whereas a physical touch person will put a hand on your back or arm, snuggle to you, hug you, etc.) Just because it isn’t your love language doesn’t mean they aren’t communicating love to you. Yes, having someone communicate to you in your love language is great, and we should strive to communicate to others in their love language. But in this society of “all about me” let’s not expect people to do it our way. But instead (or also) give the benefit of the doubt and notice their intent. 🙂

  11. Dawn,
    This is such a great and needed reminder. Thank you!
    So many couples get “out of sync” and wonder what happened. Understanding our spouses (and kids!) love language keeps that from happening and can get us back on track when it does. Knowledge of love languages is another tool in the toolbox of every great marriage!